Ubuntu 11.10 (Oneiric) Ready to Download

Oneiric has just been released and can be downloaded from the regular download site. If you prefer a torrent or or a DVD download, an alternative download page is provided.

Of course, if you are just looking to upgrade from Natty instead of doing a fresh install, you have the option of pressing Alt + F2 and typing in “update-manager -d” without the quotes. This will give you the upgrade page and allow you to click Upgrade to go to Oneiric.

It is also possible to preorder a set of Ubuntu CDs. (Shipping will start on October 20.)

Technorati Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Ubuntu 11.10 (Oneiric) Ready to Download”


  1. 1 reformedmusings October 15, 2011 at 6:51 am

    I upgraded yesterday and played with it today quite a bit. I have hardware sensors on the panel and the Compiz cube running. Still not thrilled with Unity, but it’s much more stable than it was in 11.04.

  2. 2 ubuntulady October 15, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Unity isn’t my favorite, but I’m starting to learn work-arounds. Since there are no GNOME 2 style menus, I have had to learn to search based on what the name of a program probably is or contains. And Unity is indeed much more stable than it was in 11.04.

    I’m glad you have your Compiz cube running. That is good news.

  3. 3 reformedmusings October 15, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Today I got VMWare Workstation 7.1.5 running again. Looks like I’m fully operational in a Unity sort of way. Like you, I miss GNOME 2 functionality. Maybe GNOME 3 will eventually get there. For now, I’ll just learn to live with Unity unless I get a brighter idea or totally populate the Unity panel with all of my most-used apps.


Leave a Reply

Pages

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


