Natty Narwhal Daily Build ISO is Available

The Natty Narwhal daily build live ISO is available. I have waited a few days to announce, because right now the ISO files are too big to burn onto a CD. They can be tested using a USB drive, a DVD or a virtual machine. Unfortunately, they don’t show up in Test Drive.

I am determined to use Test Drive if I can, for the alphas. Alphas tend to break machines, and hopefully cleaning up Test Drive will be easier than reinstalling everything.

To install Test Drive, open up the terminal and type in:

sudo apt-get install testdrive-gtk
sudo apt-get install testdrive-common

One last warning – the daily build ISO files right now are PRE-alpha. Although I would like to test them, I’m sure that means even more breakage. 😉

Technorati Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Natty Narwhal Daily Build ISO is Available”


  1. 1 reformedmusings November 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Have you tried using VirtualBox to test these builds in a virtual machine? I use the commercial VMWare Workstation for testing. It’s save and you can just delete the VM when you’re done or if something goes wacky.

    I’m still running 10.04 LTS here. Haven’t had time to play with 10.10 yet. Sounds weird for me, but 10.04 is working flawlessly and I have too much going on right now to sacrifice that stability.

  2. 2 ubuntulady November 14, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    I have not tried VMware. I don’t have the commercial version – I am a retiree working with Ubuntu in my spare time.

    I considered for a while, staying with 10.04. I was very happy with the LTS. Maverick started out a bit buggy IMHO. Now it is doing better. I will definitely be staying with Maverick until I have mailed my Christmas cards. My Christmas labels are the closest I get to production anymore. 😉

    • 3 reformedmusings November 16, 2010 at 4:39 am

      Copy that on the Christmas cards.

      You might play with VirtualBox, which is open source. It also has an enhanced open source version. Both are free. I’ve tried earlier versions and they work very well. I prefer the enhanced version with better “non-free” USB support.

  3. 4 ubuntulady November 16, 2010 at 5:11 am

    I will have to try that. I’ll have to find out how to get the enhanced version. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Pages

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


