Ubuntu Tweak 0.5.6 Ready for Testing

Ubuntu Tweak 0.5.6 has entered the testing ppa:  https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-tweak-testing/+archive/ppa.

This new version adds a feature called Reset Setting. This means that if you don’t like the effect you get after doing some tweaking, you can go back.

After every resettable option, there will be a reset button. The tooltip will tell you the default value when you mouse over it. You can reset to the default value by just one click.

There is another new feature to back up, recover and rest your desktop settings. Here is a screenshot of the Desktop Recovery section:

Technorati Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Ubuntu Tweak 0.5.6 Ready for Testing”


  1. 1 cmcanulty August 24, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Wow, cool this has been needed for a long time. What is really needed is system restore like xp has as I am prone to big mistakes. Thanks

    • 2 ubuntulady August 25, 2010 at 12:15 am

      You might look at Simple Backup and Restore, or Back in Time, if you are interested in a full backup. I personally don’t use a backup system because when I did, it seemed I always backed up at the wrong point. 😉

  2. 3 technologyunit August 24, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Hi if you don’t mind me asking, do you believe that the changes are substantial enough to constitute the renewing of a video tutorial covering Ubuntu Tweek on my blog? I produced a Video Tutorial covering the uses of Ubuntu Tweak, so I wan’t to know if you think the changes are enough for me to have to redo the video… Many thanks Techunit.

    • 4 ubuntulady August 25, 2010 at 12:13 am

      I would want to make a note about them. I don’t think the changes are enough to make you redo a whole video. I hope this helps. 🙂

      • 5 technologyunit August 25, 2010 at 5:18 am

        Ok now I can give you my opinion of Ubuntu Tweak which is what I think you really wanted from the comments. I really love Ubuntu Tweak, it gives you the ultimate control panel (sort of like godmode in Win7)One feature I do really like is the ability to change my log-in background that way my log-in always compliments my theme and wallpaper. Thanks a lot for the honest review.

        Thanks a ton. I have to make new basics videos every 6 months and when people ask for new videos or thing change drastically. I really depend on the comments to tell me what I should update thanks again. Also about the system restore thing… backing up your home directory off site (with permissions and groups maintained) you can find a tutorial on doing this at my blog (if you wan’t to call it that) Actually I will save you the time trying to find it, here if you like it please leave a comment but that isn’t necessary.

  3. 6 ubuntulady August 25, 2010 at 5:25 am

    Thank you for your review. I am going to take a look at your blog – I am looking forward to it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Pages

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


