The Ubuntu Sources List Generator Is Now Available for Maverick

The Ubuntu Sources List Generator is now updated to include Maverick Meerkat Alpha 1. The available third party repositories so far include AWN (Avant Window Navigator), Chromium, Conky, Esmska, the Google repositories (both regular and testing), Mozilla Daily Build Team, muCommander, Opera, Oracle 10g DB, Pidging, SABnzd, Webmin, X Updates, and Yuuguu. There will of course be more repositories listed as they become available for Maverick.

The starting page for the Ubuntu Sources List Generator asks first for your country and for the Ubuntu version you are using:

Once you make your choices about what you want to include – both regular Ubuntu repositories and third party, you come to a second page:

Toward the bottom of that page come the third party repositories. Here, I just selected a few:

Once Ailurus (sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ailurus/ppa) and Ubuntu Tweak (sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tualatrix/ppa) become available for Maverick, it will be easier to add third party repositories, as they take care of the GPG keys. For now, the Ubuntu Sources List Generator gives clear instructions along with a line that can be cut and pasted into your terminal.

Note: I am still using Lucid at this time. Maverick Meerkat Alpha 1 hosed my computer. I believe this happened because I am using an Nvidia graphics card.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Ubuntu Sources List Generator Is Now Available for Maverick”


  1. 1 reformedmusings June 7, 2010 at 2:51 am

    Sorry that it hosed your computer. I find Alpha 1 builds way too early for useful testing. I sometimes weigh in around Alpha 3, Beta 1 at the latest, even in a virtual machine.

    • 2 ubuntulady June 7, 2010 at 4:05 am

      I don’t know why I try the Alpha 1 each time. I’ve never had an Alpha 1 that didn’t hose my machine. 😉

      Thank you for the suggestion about trying the Alpha 3. I can’t decide whether I want to jump in at Alpha 2 or 3. AT least I know I won’t be trying *this* Alpha 1 again!


Leave a Reply

Pages

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


