Ubuntu Sources List Generator, Getdeb and Playdeb

It has been a while since I have blogged about the Ubuntu Sources List Generator. I use it to discover new repositories and to find out when repositories are updated for the next alpha or beta release. Now that Lucid has been released, there are many excellent repositories for it.

Recently, the Getdeb and Playdeb repositories were added. Getdeb has, along with up-to-date copies of Ubuntu software, other excellent programs such as webmin that are not (yet) in the Ubuntu repositories.

For those who claim that Linux has a shortage of games, Playdeb may be one of the best answers. It has a long list of games, some of which are more updated versions of the ones in the Ubuntu repository, but others are like FreeOrion, not part of the repository. I have been looking all over for FreeOrion – and here it is:

So far, the game appears to be very playable. And it’s only one of many in the Playdeb repository!

6 Responses to “Ubuntu Sources List Generator, Getdeb and Playdeb”


  1. 1 reformedmusings May 8, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Thanks for reminding me to go back to the sources list to see what’s new. I have used get-deb for a few months. It’s great, because Ubuntu lags new application releases significantly. It’s all release software AFAI can tell, so no betas or alphas.

    Lucid is running great and has since I finally got it to boot. I was going to put it on my wife’s laptop this weekend, but think I’ll hold off a week or two given my initial experience with it. She has a Dell with their funky wireless. If I want to stay married, I need to ensure that the wireless will work natively with Lucid or that I can make it do so.

    • 2 ubuntulady May 9, 2010 at 3:25 am

      I agree with you about the importance of staying married. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      This is the first time I have used the getdeb repository. It is also the first time I have used playdeb at all. I feel like a child in a candy store with a handful of change. What do I try first?

      The only beta I remember seeing is that playdeb itself is in beta.

  2. 3 reformedmusings May 9, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I’m not much into gaming these days, but I like getdeb because it keeps VLC, Ubuntu Tweak, and others up to date. I just discovered RadioTray, and will probably try that. I listen to Sky.FM Premium a lot, usually through VLC, but RadioTray seems a low-overhead approach.

    • 4 ubuntulady May 10, 2010 at 2:31 am

      It’s amazing how much good stuff is in getdeb. I know you wrote a whole article about webmin – that’s what made me think to mention it as one example of software that getdeb updates.

      I’m not into gaming like my children are, but there are enough different games in playdeb that I thought they deserved mention.

  3. 5 reformedmusings May 10, 2010 at 10:32 am

    I didn’t know webmin was in getdeb until you wrote about it. I installed webmin from their website. Also didn’t know about playdeb until you mentioned it. I’ll bet a lot of folks didn’t. The supposed “lack of games” gets a lot of play on the forums. Good heads up on both!

    • 6 ubuntulady May 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad that packages like webmin that haven’t made it into Ubuntu (yet) are included in getdeb. I update Ubuntu Tweak from its own repository, but am more than happy to use the getdeb repository for other updates.


Leave a Reply

Pages

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


