Lucid Lynx Has Been Launched

Lucid Lynx (Ubuntu 10.04) has been launched on schedule and is available for download. There is also a page of complete download options. I heartily recommend using bit torrent. Transmission takes care of the job for you – you just click on the correct torrent (in my case ubuntu-10.04-desktop-i386.iso.torrent) and then click add to get the torrent added to the Transmission queue and downloading.

Of course, Shipit is available if you need an official copy. Canonical is trying to cut down on the official copies, so they request that you only use this option if you don’t have the money to buy a copy, or your download speed wouldn’t make a copy feasible. I requested a copy to make sure Shipit was working before I sent anyone to it.

Remember that Lucid Lynx is an LTS release – long term support. Once you have it burned to disk or have updated to it, you may wish to go to System > Administration > Software Sources > Upgrades and make sure that the Show New Distribution Releases section reads Normal Releases and not just Long Term Support.

I guess I should mention that because Lucid has been released, you can now upgrade to it via update-manager instead of update-manager -d, if you are currently running Ubuntu 9.10 or 8.04 (the last LTS)Technorati Tags: , , , . I don’t know how slow that option will be today. I have had bad luck trying to run the update manager to upgrade to the next version on a release date.

May your upgrade go well and your Ubuntu experiences be enjoyable!

16 Responses to “Lucid Lynx Has Been Launched”


  1. 1 reformedmusings May 1, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Wow, upgrade to Lucid has not been a good experience here. It worked great in a virtual machine but basically bricked my PC last night. I just recovered my system tonight with the help of System Restore CD 1.4.0. I’ll write more extensively on my blog about it either tonight or tomorrow.

    • 2 ubuntulady May 1, 2010 at 2:46 am

      Yeeouch! Could mine have worked because I updated instead of installing? I’ve noticed, though, that each Ubuntu version seems to work perfectly for some people and yet it hoses other people’s machines. Karmic hosed mine – and I remember being frustrated by the people who said that it worked on all 20 machines that they installed it on.

      For me, Lucid has worked since Beta 2 without any tweaking. I’m looking forward to reading about the havoc it wrecked on your machine – but sorry that you had to go through havoc to get material for (another) good post.

  2. 3 reformedmusings May 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    I also updated using the GUI updater as usual. This is the first update where I’ve had real issues. My post should get written and posted later today. All is working fine now, but I lost all of yesterday’s mail – about 30 messages.

  3. 4 reformedmusings May 1, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Three posts are up. It was all too much to put into one post. Mix of the good, the bad, and the ugly. Up and running fully functioning now, so all is good at the moment.

    • 5 ubuntulady May 2, 2010 at 1:11 am

      I’m glad to hear it worked out. Was your problem with grub2? They hosed grub2 just before the release day. The one thing I remember was that once updated, it would no longer allow dual booting.

  4. 6 reformedmusings May 2, 2010 at 1:25 am

    Nope. Grub2 never came into play. I’m still using ext3 and Grub, and fortunately the Lucid update left that setup alone.

  5. 7 ubuntulady May 2, 2010 at 1:29 am

    At least that was one thing that didn’t happen. I hope your experiences with Lucid are better than mine were with Karmic. 😉

  6. 8 reformedmusings May 2, 2010 at 1:38 am

    I’ll drink to that! I’ve updated the TBird indicator post several times now as I learn more. The indicator applet may be more trouble than it’s worth. We’ll see.

    Post-upgrade and fix, everything seems to be running fine except the bootsplash, which is basically a trashed and unreadable display. Probably that ongoing bug concerning incompatibility with NVidia proprietary drivers. I’m still looking for a workaround for that, but I rarely reboot so it isn’t a major deal.

    • 9 ubuntulady May 2, 2010 at 1:43 am

      I downloaded and installed the Nvidia drivers from the Ubuntu repository. Those work properly. I read about the problem with the drivers from Nvidia’s website. I don’t know if you might want to try uninstalling the driver from the website and using System > Administration > Hardware Drivers.

  7. 10 reformedmusings May 2, 2010 at 1:58 am

    I did install them from Hardware Drivers. The drivers work great except for the bootsplash. I’ve used Start-Up Manager to vary the resolution and color depth, but nothing seems to make a difference other than making the display garbage bigger or smaller.

    I think that I found an answer at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/plymouth/+bug/540801/comments/2. I’ll post it if works.

  8. 12 reformedmusings May 2, 2010 at 2:08 am

    It worked! The boot screen is boring, but it’s there. There’s a really quick flash of text before it appears, but then it pops up. This is something that really should be fixed by the developers. They know exactly what the problem is, otherwise this workaround wouldn’t provide resolution.

  9. 14 reformedmusings May 2, 2010 at 2:35 am

    I don’t think so. This fix was provided by one of the developers over 5 weeks ago. I’m not sure what else to think other than the Lucid team believes that an unusable bootsplash is a fair trade for saving less than a second of additional boot time.

  10. 15 Niranjan May 30, 2010 at 4:10 am

    My Lucid Lynx trash has been deleted by mistake and i hv a lot of files in the trash which i want to restore.How to run trash again/ how to get it back..Plzzz help me out ppl!!! 😦 😦 😦


Leave a Reply

Pages

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


