Lucid Lynx Beta 1 Has Been Released

Lucid Lynx Beta 1 has been released on schedule. Here is the official desktop you get with the beta:

The new human theme has purple in it, to go with the new colors on the background.  Note also that there are four desktops to switch among, rather than the two with Karmic and before.

As before, to upgrade from Karmic on a desktop system, press Alt+F2 and type in “update-manager -d” without the quotes.  The Update Manager should then open up and tell you:  New distribution release ‘10.04’ is available.  You can then click Upgrade and follow the instructions.

As it says in the release, “Get it while it’s hot.” ISOs and torrents are available at:

http://releases.ubuntu.com/releases/10.04/ (Ubuntu Desktop and Server)
http://uec-images.ubuntu.com/releases/10.04/beta-1/ (Ubuntu Server for UEC and EC2)
http://releases.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/10.04 (Kubuntu Desktop and Netbook Remix)
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/xubuntu/releases/lucid/beta-1/ (Xubuntu)
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/edubuntu/releases/lucid/beta-1/ (Edubuntu)
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/mythbuntu/releases/lucid/beta-1/ (Mythbuntu)
http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntustudio/releases/lucid/beta-1/ (Ubuntu Studio)

Local mirrors are also available: Technorati Tags: , , , ,

16 Responses to “Lucid Lynx Beta 1 Has Been Released”


  1. 1 reformedmusings March 21, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    Thanks for the heads up! I set up Alpha 3 in a VM before I left last week. I’ll try to update that to Beta 1 today as you describe.

    • 2 ubuntulady March 21, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      I heartily recommend Beta 1. I have just updated to it, but it is already working very well. (Just in case, I burned the beta 1 to disk.)

  2. 3 Hund March 21, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    @reformedmusings:

    If you already have Lucid, you just have to update it:

    sudo aptitude update
    sudo aptitude safe-upgrade

    Or if you prefer a GUI, use the update manager to install the avalible updates.

    • 4 ubuntulady March 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      Thank you for bringing to my attention that people who already have Lucid (like me) just need to do a normal update. I haven’t heard of safe-upgrade, though. It sounds like a very good idea. πŸ™‚

  3. 5 Hund March 21, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    I use aptitude in Ubuntu, but you can also use apt-get:

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade

    • 6 ubuntulady March 21, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      Thank you. I was starting to feel guilty about using sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get upgrade. Those are indeed what I use when I don’t fall back on the trusty update-manager.

    • 8 ubuntulady March 21, 2010 at 11:37 pm

      I need to study aptitude some more. I wasn’t able to get it to do everything I could do with apt-get, so I stopped using it. It looks like I will have to revisit aptitude. πŸ™‚

  4. 9 Hund March 21, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    What couldnt you do with Aptitude? :O

  5. 11 Hund March 21, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Okey. πŸ™‚ You have my mail, feel free to contact me if you want help with something. πŸ™‚

  6. 13 reformedmusings March 22, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Thanks to all. The VM is downloading 165 files through the normal Update Manager.

    I, too, am an aptitude fan. I use it for almost everything. apt-get has the autoremove function to get rid of no-longer-required packages, which I don’t believe that aptitude can do.

    Aptitude has an output line that says it doesn’t have super cow powers, but apt-get says that it does have super cow powers.

  7. 14 Hund March 22, 2010 at 1:58 am

    @reformedmusings:

    Aptitude doesnt need “autoremove” since it handle the deps better than apt-get. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


