Lucid Lynx New Wallpaper and Themes

The new wallpaper for Lucid Lynx (Ubuntu 10.04) has arrived. The main color is now purple – quite a change from the variations of orange and brown we have been seeing.

There are also two brand-new themes: Ambiance and Radiance. Ambiance is dark:

Radiance is light:

The Beta 1 release is scheduled for March 18. I wonder what new surprises we will find then!

8 Responses to “Lucid Lynx New Wallpaper and Themes”


  1. 1 reformedmusings March 7, 2010 at 4:04 am

    Cool. I never cared for the whole orange/brown thing. I use my own theme and backgrounds which make renders the default moot, but I’m glad to see the change.

    Are the screenlets standard in Lucid? I put all my stuff on the menu bar, which is always visible. Screenlets would spend most of their time covered by app windows.

    • 2 Ubuntulady March 7, 2010 at 4:14 am

      The Screenlets package is in the repository:

      sudo apt-get install screenlets

      They default to sitting on top of everything else on your screen. I change mine to go below because that way, they won’t block my browser.

      I don’t normally use the defaults, either. That’s one of the things I love about Ubuntu – you can change themes, wallpaper, icons….

      Thank you for your comment. πŸ™‚

  2. 3 reformedmusings March 7, 2010 at 4:21 am

    You’re welcome! I subscribed. πŸ™‚

    Do you find the screenlets stable? I played with them in KDE4 when it first released, but many had “issues”. Could have been the underlying KDE4 system which had more than its own share of issues. That’s what drove me back to Gnome.

    • 4 Ubuntulady March 7, 2010 at 4:28 am

      Thank you for subscribing. πŸ™‚

      I am having one small problem with screenlets in alpha. My weather screenlet every so often produces a warning that it closed unexpectedly, when it hasn’t closed at all. That bug was already posted to bugs.launchpad.net by the time I got there. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t found screenlets to be buggy in a final release – not in Gnome.

  3. 5 reformedmusings March 7, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Cool. I may play with them a bit. I just downloaded the new Elive 2.0 iso. I’ll play with it in a VM tomorrow and probably post about it. I really like the e17 desktop library. I’ve posted about earlier versions, but lost the bubble on them.

  4. 7 reformedmusings March 7, 2010 at 5:11 am

    Me either. I’ve limited my Elive explorations to VMs so far. There are some KDE utilities like Krusader with which I just can’t part.

  5. 8 Ubuntulady March 7, 2010 at 5:19 am

    I feel the same way about Gnome. When I feel a need to explore, I start running the latest Ubuntu alpha or beta. Fortunately, I have my very own bottom-of-the-line, er, don’t tell my computer I said that!, computer. πŸ˜‰ That way, when I have to do a reinstall, I’m the only one affected.


Leave a Reply

Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


