Ubuntu Sources List Generator – Now Including Lucid

The Ubuntu Sources List Generator is an excellent source of third-party repositories. It supplies a sources.list that you can use to update or replace your own /etc/apt/sources.list, or use through System > Administration > Software Sources.

The home page, before any selections have been made, looks like this.

You select your country and your distribution – even Lucid, which is on its second alpha! Then, along with the standard Ubuntu repositories, it gives a large number of choices of third-party repositories that you can select. I was very pleased to see that, in the case of Lucid, Medibuntu, Ailurus, and the Google repositories were available, among others.

Here is a sample sources.list generated by this site.

As you may know, I initially ran into a great deal of trouble trying to upgrade to Lucid Lynx. Karmic has a bug in it that would not allow me to do a standard Alt + F2, update-manager -d number. I finally got around this by typing sudo update-manager -d in the box after clicking on “run in terminal.” If you are having trouble with Karmic, Lucid may be more to your liking. Because it is an LTS (Long Term Support) release, a great deal of work is going into getting all the bugs out. (Not as many new things get into an LTS because of this.)

LTS means the release is supported for 5 years on servers and 3 years on desktops, rather than 18 months.Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Ubuntu Sources List Generator – Now Including Lucid”


  1. 1 reformedmusings January 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Hi,

    Nice post! I’ve had to use the list generator several times over the years, and it has never let me down. I haven’t played with Lucid yet. I usually wait for the first beta before giving it a run in a virtual machine.

    I’m saddened to report that your post was plagiarized in total at http://abhinav7.wordpress.com/2010/01/23/ubuntu-sources-list-generator-lucid-included/ . That blog is a collection of pirated posts, but not a bot. The plagiarism is apparently done the old fashioned way. Sorry this has happened to your post. He stole one of mine and a number of others as well. I’m trying to notify all affected so far.

  2. 3 reformedmusings January 24, 2010 at 2:45 am

    You’re welcome. I’m writing a detailed WordPress support forum post now, which I’ll copy into a support note when I’m done. I have six-plus direct examples that I tracked, although I’m sure that none of his posts are original.

    FWIW, I also left a comment on the post he copied from my blog. I doubt it will leave moderation. I also wrote a blog post at http://reformedmusings.wordpress.com/2010/01/23/plagiarism-on-abhinavs-blog/ to warn others.

    Like you, I’m not interested in anything other than getting him to stop. I’ll let you know if I hear anything from WordPress.

    On the good side, I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog.

  3. 5 reformedmusings January 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Hi,

    I received the following from WordPress this morning:

    [blockquote]Hi,
    Thanks for the report – that blog is suspended.
    If we find any related to that blog then they will be removed too.

    Mark[/blockquote]

    Looks like the saga is over for now.

    Bob

    • 6 ubuntulady January 25, 2010 at 12:23 am

      Thank you very much for letting me know all this. I am grateful to you for tracking me (and others) down to let us know. Also, I have subscribed to your blog. When I poked my nose around (I couldn’t just read the one article!) I found the subscribe button….

      • 7 reformedmusings January 25, 2010 at 1:43 am

        You’re very welcome. Thanks for subscribing. You’ll find a mix of stuff coming up. I write about Linux, theology, politics, movies, or some days whatever pops into my head. Mostly those four, though.

      • 8 ubuntulady January 25, 2010 at 1:47 am

        I’ve already seen some of your mix, and find it intriguing. 🙂 I’m sorry we were plagiarized, but glad I now know about your blog.

  4. 9 hyper_ch January 27, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Hi ubuntulady

    Thx for the two positive reviews/blogs. I noticed that you send regurarly people from your blog to my little generator.

    hyper_ch

    • 10 ubuntulady January 27, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      Thank you very much for noticing, and for your positive response. Your generator is a very great help – even more so because you keep up with the latest testing version of Ubuntu and not just a final release. Thank you for working so hard on it, and for it being so excellent. 🙂

  5. 11 Martin, DasEi May 19, 2010 at 1:45 am

    Very nice piece of work, mind putting vlc media player to it ?
    cheers, DasEi

  6. 13 Gexyextew December 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    тут на этом магазине http://kozhmaster.ru/ можно купить чехол для samsung galaxy ace plus s7500. мы имеем высокий стаж , и сотни клиентов счатливы работать с нами. заходите к нам и самостоятельно все посмотрите.

  7. 14 ubuntulady January 24, 2010 at 2:36 am

    I have complained to Support, since this is a TOS violation. I’m not sure I want this person knowing all of my contact info as would happen with a DMCA takedown notice. I don’t want money. I just want him stopped. Thank you for the link.


  1. 1 Plagiarism on Abhinav’s Blog « Reformed Musings Trackback on January 24, 2010 at 2:27 am
  2. 2 repo configuration in Ubuntu Trackback on October 6, 2010 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


