How to Deal with Bugs in Karmic

I should be ashamed of myself. 😉 Bugs in Karmic Koala? Say it ain’t so! But my x-windows haven’t allowed me to switch between them properly. I have been suffering (mildly) from glitches. Nothing bad enough to force me to resort to the tried and true ALT + F2 + SysRq. Just some annoying things that people who are new to Ubuntu shouldn’t have to go through.

I would like to tell you about some of the tactics I have made use of so far. One is to see if the tab key will work. If the cursor seems unresponsive, tabbing around in a window may get you to where you need to go.

Another thing to try – which didn’t occur to me until now – is to check the Karmic-proposed box under System > Administration > Software Sources > Updates. This has helped me a great deal, even though it hasn’t fixed everything yet. What it does is to allow you to update your computer with software that is still being tested – sort of like a beta release of the individual parts. If you are suffering from a bug, your bug fix may simply not have been moved into the main repositories yet.

Then you can go into System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. click on reload, then on Mark All Upgrades, then on Apply.

I’m so used to calling up the terminal via Applications > Accessories > Terminal and typing in

sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get upgrade -y

to update my computer, I needed to review how to do it in Synaptic! ;)Technorati Tags: , , ,

0 Responses to “How to Deal with Bugs in Karmic”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


