Karmic Koala Release Candidate

The Karmic Koala (9.10) release candidate is now available. It is mostly bug-fixed, and available for inspection before the final release on October 29, 2009.

As always, to upgrade from Ubuntu 9.04 on a desktop system, press Alt + F2 and type in “update-manager -d” without the quotes. Update manager will then come up and tell you: New distribution release 9.10 is available. You then need to click on upgrade and follow the instructions.

Downloads and ISOs for desktop systems are available at http://releases.ubuntu.com/releases/9.10/. I found the download slow, because people are already starting to pound the servers getting ready for October 29 and the final release.

If you have not upgraded your Ubuntu system before – let’s say you joined us with 9.04, Jaunty Jackalope – I have a bit of advice for you:

1) Update to the release candidate while the servers are still responding – or be prepared to wait a week while hundreds of thousands of people are pounding every available Ubuntu mirror to get the final release. I do not mean to sound harsh. I have read that there are about 600,000 of us Ubuntu users. Some of them will be using the last LTS (long-term support) version, Hardy Heron – but that still leaves a sizable number of people who will be trying to upgrade all at the same time.

2) If you can, use a different mirror. To do this, go to System > Software Sources:

You will find an area that says Main Server – you want to click on that and choose Other.

Then you will have the option to test for the best server to switch to. Be forewarned – this is sometimes a bit flakey. One time, I was told that the best available server for me was in Poland. I live in Colorado (USA). (That only happened once!)

I must admit that I am doing all I can to avoid H-e-double toothpicks week. I learned with the transition from Gutsy Gibbon to Hardy Heron. If I can spare you my travails, I will be happy indeed.Technorati Tags: , , ,

0 Responses to “Karmic Koala Release Candidate”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


