Two Ways to Save Your Bookmarks in Firefox

As an alpha (and now beta) tester, I have had more than one occasion where I needed to reinstall Ubuntu. Today, I’d like to point out two Firefox extensions that make a reinstall far less catastrophic than it could be:

Xmarks keeps your Firefox bookmarks (and optionally passwords) backed up and synchronized. You can use it on more than one computer. For instance, I have gone on my husband’s (Windows) computer in the past to hose the latest set of viruses. I set Firefox up with my bookmarks in case I needed to use any of them. (Somewhere, I have a link to www.download.com. I don’t believe in paying for overpriced anti-virus software even on Windows.)

The Google toolbar also has a bookmark area, which is saved on one of Google’s servers and can be accessed from more than one computer. (I use this bookmark list for bookmarks that I use often, since it seems to me to be more easily accessible than the Firefox bookmarks.)

In the past, when I lost my bookmarks, it would take me ages to reconstruct the list – and I would sometimes lose a favorite bookmark to the great bit bucket in the sky. With Xmarks and the Google toolbar, I no longer have such worries. I recommend both highly.

4 Responses to “Two Ways to Save Your Bookmarks in Firefox”


  1. 1 Jason January 17, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Have you tried Opera Browser? It does this out of the box with Opera Link.

    • 2 ubuntulady January 18, 2010 at 4:08 am

      I have tried Opera but I had some other problems with it. It could just have been that I wasn’t used to it. Thank you.

  2. 3 conseils en referencement July 27, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a weblog
    web site? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I have been a little bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright transparent concept

    • 4 ubuntulady July 27, 2013 at 9:57 am

      Have you considered your own website? I find WordPress.com reasonably easy to use. That said, I am always open to advice.


Leave a Reply

Pages

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


