Temporary Problems with Scribefire

As you may know, I have been testing alphas for Karmic Koala (Ubuntu 9.10). This has run me into a problem. When the alpha was upgraded to Firefox 3.5, I lost the use of my cursor.

I normally use the Firefox add-on, Scribefire. Since I can’t click on the icon Scribefire sets up at the bottom of the page, I am now temporarily using gnome-blog. This can be installed with the command

sudo apt-get install gnome-blog

and it is easy to use. However, I won’t be able to add images until the problem is fixed. (I have already fussed to bugs.launchpad.net.)

Karmic Alpha 4 was released yesterday. It is a massive improvement over Karmic Alpha 3. I still can’t blog and surf the web at the same time, but (with the help of alt – key combinations and tabs) I can do quite a lot. I just didn’t know that when they said, “this should not be used on production machines,” they meant mine. 😉

Ubuntu Tweak has now added an upgrade for Karmic – for testing purposes. This means a full version is just around the corner. I will be happy to have this upgrade, since it will point to the latest and greatest repositories set up for Karmic.

One addition to my blog on the shiki and arc themes: the best way to install them is to type at the terminal,

sudo apt-get install arc-colors shiki-colors

(and then, of course, you can enjoy the themes you get.)

If you are considering testing, please don’t be scared off by the problems I am having right now. I have an Nvidia 6600 graphics card and a monitor with a weird resolution (1440 x 900). I think I am testing every odd path that the developers didn’t think of getting to. 😉

2 Responses to “Temporary Problems with Scribefire”


  1. 1 ShadowDragon August 25, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Don’t be affraid, 1440×900 is a very common resolution for 15.4″ laptops. But hey, al the things you find and report will make the new version for all the other people much more painless. So keep up the good job 😉

    • 2 ubuntulady August 25, 2009 at 7:29 pm

      I didn’t realize 1440 x 900 was so common. (I have a desktop computer and that wide-screen monitor.) Anyway, thank you for your encouragement. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


