Jaunty Jackalope Impression

Jaunty Jackalope is already turning out to be better than Intrepid, even with a few bugs not quite shaken out. The booting time is noticeably shorter. Even the installation time seemed to be shorter, though I didn’t do benchmarks. My wifi connection is working as well as or better than it did with Intrepid.

Compared to Intrepid when it was in Alpha 3 – when I started testing the last time around – I am duly impressed. The sound isn’t broken. Already, it works and works well. There are a few things that make me aware I am running an Alpha version, though, like the restart icon that does nothing when you click on it, or the Nvidia driver that belches xserver-xorglets all over the great bit bucket in the sky when you install it.

I hope they get the Nvidia problem solved soon, I’ll admit – not being able to use the driver means not being able to use the proper resolution for my widescreen monitor. I know that one has been posted at bugs.launchpad.net. That means it is being worked on. Whew!

0 Responses to “Jaunty Jackalope Impression”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers


